I’ve come to accept that the destruction MS causes in my brain and spinal cord can cause weakness in strength and difficulties in coordination.  When my arm tremors or my feet can’t keep up with my body – and I tumble -  I can get my brain around what is happening. When the major muscles in my upper legs began to give way this weekend, however, I’ll not disguise my surprise and a little bit of sadness. I never thought of that part of my stems taking such a hit. Many of us will have experience a buckling of the knees due to MS or some other reason.  It wasn’t quite like that.  I guess it was more akin to standing in waist-deep water and feeling a current pushing below the surface.  I needed to support myself, first with furniture and counter-tops and later with my forearm crutches (the latter as very intense pain rushed in later in the evening). Once I lay down I noted that I could not feel most of my legs save for where the blankets touched one part of my left calf and my left toes. Thought the weakness continues, I am thankful to say that the pain has subsided by factors of 10.  It is now just an annoyance where last night I couldn’t even concentrate for the all-consuming nature of the experience. The whole thing has brought to mind the importance of core strength as when one muscle group takes an MS hit, some others may be able to pick up the slack… and my legs did ‘slack’. As with anything MS related, I’m going to do what I can while I wait to see how much of this new thing sticks around, what goes away and where my new normal will settle. How about you; your thighs ever involved in an MS incident?  Any other symptoms take you buy surprise? Wishing you and your family the best of health. Cheers Trevis Don’t forget to follow me on the Life With MS Facebook page and on Twitter, and subscribe to Life With Multiple Sclerosis.